Training Delivery

Standard

Date: 27 May 2013

Today I delivered two training sessions for the implementation of SAP to warehouse employees involved in the day to day supply chain for Telstra’s inventory. It was the first in many facilitated session relating to the impending rollout of the system on the 17th July. Being the first facilitated session I was excited, nervous and anxious to get started and meet the group of individuals I would be working with.

20130528-191005.jpg
I could reflect on many aspects of the training event and the events lead up to it, including the learning strategy, assessment methods/tools and how I chunked the learning into modules. I have chosen today to reflect on my facilitation and the challenges I faced in this delivery. Of all the challenges I faced, the largest was that some of the members had low language, literacy and numeracy skills with limited computer use over the last year.

Since Telstra decided to implement the SAP system, it was clear that our warehouse employees would be affected and their LLN (Language, Literacy, and Numeracy) / computer skill would be visible very quickly. With this knowledge I started the session with a written questionnaire about the current knowledge of the SAP program. This was to test their LLN and establish their current knowledge base of SAP. From the questionnaire it become apparent that the delivery and content to be covered would need to be altered for my audience.

Although I already had an understanding of my students prior to the training event, I still needed to alter the delivery to overcame the challenge of low LLN. This was handled with a focus on the physical process and aligning it to the steps needed within the system. This proved to be useful due to the fact that the training became relatable to them and their role.

20130528-212726.jpg
Another method I used to assist in making the training relatable to my students was to incorporate another physical task, this time the task was a word map. Each student was given two cards representing a step in a process. Working together in a group of six they needed to order the cards (tasks) into the correct process. This exercise was ad-hoc and upon reflection its purpose was to assist in knowledge transfer from short-term memory, an idea that was generated from a discussion about cognitive pedagogy during my study of the Diploma of Vocational Education.

Summery: Although as a facilitator you may have a chosen favourite approach/pedagogy, your audience will ultimately determine your approach. What does success look like in learning & development, simply ask your audience.

Happy training,
Luke

Leave a Reply

